home urnen-manufaktur tina bepperling deutsch

Urns unfold an intense symbolic power upon human existence – for centuries they have been a symbol of transcendence for humans. Aside from this philosophic reflection, urns as functional objects also provide a number of cultural historical references. The form, material and decoration of the vessel tell a very personal story about the departed and their culture. Viewed in this light, the functional and decorative character of urns is subject to a variety of traditions and interpretations...

Against this complex backdrop, the artist Tina Bepperling conceived a series of urns with a contemporary design and founded the urnen-manufaktur. Her innovative concept has already been nominated for the DME Award 2008 (Design Management Europe Award) by Design Austria.

The artist’s credo is reduction. The first models of urnen-manufaktur from the amphor production series are characterised by their clear lines and unfurl an almost sculptural formal language. They follow a carefully defined material and colour concept that is continuously being expanded and diversified.

Using modern and traditional technical processes alike, all models of urnen-manufaktur are developed in collaboration with ceramic specialists in Austria and Georgia, where they are produced in smaller quantities.

home

home urnen-manufaktur tina bepperling english

Urnen entfalten eine starke, auf die menschliche Existenz gerichtete Symbolkraft – sie sind für Menschen seit Jahrtausenden Symbole der Transzendenz. Neben dieser philosophischen Überlegung liefern Urnen als Gebrauchsobjekte eine Vielzahl kulturgeschichtlicher Anknüpfungspunkte. Form, Material und Schmuck des Gefäßes erzählen eine ganz persönliche Geschichte über den Verstorbenen und seine Kultur. So gesehen, unterliegt der traditionelle Gebrauchs- und Schmuckcharakter von Urnen wechselnden Bedingungen und Betrachtungsweisen...

Vor diesem komplexen Hintergrund entwickelte die Künstlerin Tina Bepperling eine Serie von Urnen in zeitgemäßem Design und gründete die urnen-manufaktur. Für ihr innovatives Konzept wurde sie bereits von Design Austria für den DME Award 2008 nominiert (Design Management Europe-Award).

Das Credo der Künstlerin ist die Reduktion. Die ersten Modelle der urnen-manufaktur aus der Serie amphor zeichnen sich durch eine klare Linienführung aus und entwickeln eine fast skulptural anmutende Formensprache. Dabei folgen sie einem sorgfältig abgestimmten Konzept von Material und Farbe, das kontinuierlich erweitert und variiert wird.

Alle Modelle der urnen-manufaktur entstehen – unter Anwendung moderner bzw. traditioneller technischer Verfahren – in Zusammenarbeit mit Keramik-Spezialisten in Österreich und Georgien und können in einer begrenzten Auflagenhöhe produziert werden.

home